Olympic Marathon Trials: Don’t Blink

I posted this today on my running blog, Run Nature, but thought I would post the link here as well. This morning I had the immense pleasure of watching the men’s and women’s Olympic Marathon Trials in Houston. The top three men and women finishers will represent the United States this summer in London. As a runner, these are my superstars. To give you perspective, when I run a marathon I try to keep a pace of around 9:00-9:20 per mile. They keep a sub 5:00 pace. For 26.2 miles. Without stopping. To watch them fly past today, focused and deep in concentration, was like winning the lottery.

CLICK HERE to view the rest of the photos.

7 comments

    • Mind Margins

      It was insane to watch. Look at their bodies, especially the women. There’s NO body fat. And their focus during running is amazing to see.
      AND they do this for over 26 miles. It really was something to see.

    • Mind Margins

      The human body was made to run. But other than the pure, physical motion of quickly moving forward, there’s also something very spiritual about running. I love the challenge of pushing myself, physically and mentally, and watching the Olympic Trials gave me a chance to see what the human body is truly capable of.

  1. A Wanderer

    I caught part of the trials on tv Saturday and could only think of how superhuman they seemed. They made it look effortless (expecially Davila). I wish when I ran (at a significantly slower pace) I could at least look like I wasn’t in pain. I can’t fathom being that fast but I can aspire to making it look easy like them.

    • Mind Margins

      Some people from my running group ran a half marathon a few weeks ago and my boyfriend videotaped everyone at different locations. We were all struck by how SLOW we looked on camera. It was kind of a bummer! The thing that struck me the most about the runners at the Trials was their running form: they didn’t bounce, had super long strides, and their feet almost kicked their bums (whereas most of us bounce, have short strides, and shuffle along). Their focus was also amazing to see.

Please leave a comment

