Running a Marathon: The Hero’s Journey

Why do we run marathons? It’s a question I’ve asked myself often.

There comes a point in every marathon I’ve run, usually around mile 19 or 20, when I start to ask myself why I’m here, doing this to myself. At mile 23 or 24 I start promising myself that I’ll never do this again, it sucks, it’s hard work, it’s not fun, why would anyone do this to themselves, and no way, not ever again, will I do another one of these.

So far I’m at six marathons, training for number seven.  READ MORE

Please leave a comment

